venerdì 21 gennaio 2011

Van der Graaf Generator - A Grounding in Numbers (2011)

Il dodicesimo album in studio dei VdGG (il terzo dalla loro reunion) uscirà il 14 marzo:

In April 2010 Peter Hammill, Hugh Banton and Guy Evans met up for intensive tracking sessions in Cornwall, arranging, rehearsing and recording the album in a week. Some of the pieces were already fully-formed songs; others, even at this stage, remained more sketches than fully realised works.

Over the next months the tracks were overdubbed, edited and adapted by the band in their own studios.

By September, the project was ready to be mixed. Legendary producer Hugh Padgham agreed to take on this part of the process - the first time anyone outside the band had been entrusted such responsibility.

After three weeks in Hugh's London studio, Sofasound (which shares its name with Peter's original home set-up), A Grounding in Numbers was completed.

With a fantastic clarity and depth of sound and a helter-skelter stretch of tunes, A Grounding.... sees VDGG pushing ever further forward into the twenty first century.

A group with a certain history, perhaps, but also an emphatically modern one.


1. Your Time Starts Now
2. Mathematics
3. Highly Strung
4. Red Baron
5. Bunsho
6. Snake Oil
7. Splink
8. Embarrassing Kid
9. Medusa
10. Mr. Sands
11. Smoke
12. 5533
13. All Over the Place

Il gruppo sarà anche in tour in Italia ad aprile per le seguenti date:

7 Milano, Conservatorio
8 Vicenza, Teatro Comunale
9 Cesena, Teatro Carisport

4 commenti:

Diego ha detto...

Attenzione, il "leggendario" Hugh Padgham è il co-produttore, udite udite, di ABACAB dei Genesis, nonché dei dischi anni 80 di Phil Collins. Non si può dire esattamente il migliore amico di un fan progressive. Sono curioso di sentire qual è il risultato coi VDGG

Lorenzo Barbagli ha detto...

Son curioso pure io, non mi aspetto chissà cosa, ma a sentire gli snippets su Amazon non sembra male.

Franco Palese ha detto...

La notizia circolava ormai da qualche mese, ma ora si sa che il prossimo 30 settembre uscirà il nuovo album dei leggendari Van Der Graaf Generator.

Lorenzo Barbagli ha detto...

Si, sapevo, è stata svelata anche la tracklist

1 Aloft
2 Alfa Berlina
3 Room 1210
4 Forever Falling
5 Shikata na Gai
6(Oh No, I Must Have Said) Yes
7 Brought to Book
8 Almost the Words
9 Go